Baldrige Award criteria and healthcare

James W. Collins*

*Corresponding author for this work

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review


Two very well-known award criteria used in healthcare are the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award (MBNQA) and the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO). MBNQA promotes an understanding of quality excellence, greater awareness of quality as a crucial competitive element, and the sharing of quality information and strategies. Created by public law, it is the highest level of national recognition that a US company can receive. On the other hand, JCAHO aims to improve the quality of care given to the public through the provision of healthcare accreditation and related services that support performance improvements in healthcare organizations.

Original languageEnglish (US)
JournalAnnual Quality Congress Transactions
StatePublished - Jan 1 1999

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering

Fingerprint Dive into the research topics of 'Baldrige Award criteria and healthcare'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this