Central neck dissection

Dina M. Elaraj*, Cord Sturgeon

*Corresponding author for this work

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapter


Lymph nodes in the neck are classified by their location (Levels I-VI). Level VI, also known as the central compartment of the neck, is bounded by the carotid arteries laterally, the hyoid bone superiorly, and the suprasternal notch inferiorly [1]. It contains the Delphian (precricoid), pretracheal, and paratracheal lymph nodes. Level VII nodes, although not technically located in the neck, are often included when describing lymph node groups/levels in the neck. They are located in the superior mediastinum between the suprasternal notch and brachiocephalic vessels, and lymph nodes in Level VII can be resected en bloc with those in Level VI.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Title of host publicationIllustrative Handbook of General Surgery
PublisherSpringer London
Number of pages6
ISBN (Print)9781848820883
StatePublished - 2010

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Medicine(all)


Dive into the research topics of 'Central neck dissection'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this