The accreditation system after the "next accreditation system"

Thomas J. Nasca*, Kevin B. Weiss, James P. Bagian, Timothy P. Brigham

*Corresponding author for this work

Research output: Contribution to journalReview articlepeer-review

37 Scopus citations


The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and the American Board of Medical Specialties and its member boards introduced the six domains of physician competency in 1999. This initiated a national dialogue concerning the elements of competency of the physician, and incorporation of these elements into the framework of evaluation of residents and fellows, as well as the educational programs within which they are trained. The next step in this process will be the ACGME's Next Accreditation System, which the authors describe in this commentary. Recognizing that there are already developments in the assessment of medical education that will influence future models of accreditation, the authors consider some of these innovations and discuss how they may shape the next accreditation system after the Next Accreditation System.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)27-29
Number of pages3
JournalAcademic Medicine
Issue number1
StatePublished - Jan 2014

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Education


Dive into the research topics of 'The accreditation system after the "next accreditation system"'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this